“The Noblest Gift”: The Fight to Preserve American Sign Language Poetry Takes Center Stage at CUNY Graduate Center

For too many years, the minority language of American Sign Language—and the Deaf community that cherishes it—has been relegated to the sidelines, oppressed by the dominance of English and the hearing world. Meet the scholars and artists fighting colonialist and paternalistic attitudes by embracing—and preserving—signed poetry. Read Full Post


Celebrating 15 Years of the Poetry Society of America’s Chapbook Fellowship

"We launched this series of chapbooks, selected and introduced by distinguished contemporary poets, in 2003, bringing the total of poetry debuts as of this spring to sixty," said Alice Quinn, Executive Director of the Poetry Society of America, as she discussed the PSA's Chapbook Program, which publishes each winner's work as a gorgeous chapbook, allowing new voices to reach new audiences Read Full Post

Categories: Awards Reading Report

Announcing the winner of the 2018 Shelley Memorial Award, Ntozake Shange

The Poetry Society of America is honored to announce that Ntozake Shange has been selected as the 2018 recipient of the Shelley Memorial Award by Dorianne Laux and Harryette Mullen. Read Full Post


Inaugural Four Quartets Prize Finalists Announced

The T. S. Eliot Foundation and the Poetry Society of America are pleased to announce the three finalists for the inaugural Four Quartets Prize, which is to be awarded to a unified and complete sequence of poems published in America in a print or online journal, chapbook, or book in 2016 and/or 2017. Read Full Post


Announcing the 2018 Frost Medalist, Ron Padgett

The Poetry Society of America is honored to announce that Ron Padgett is the 2018 recipient of the organization's highest award, the Frost Medal, presented annually for distinguished lifetime achievement in poetry. Previous winners of this award include Wallace Stevens, Marianne Moore, Gwendolyn Brooks, Allen Ginsberg, Adrienne Rich, Barbara Guest, Lucille Clifton, Michael S. Harper, Marilyn Nelson, and Susan Howe. Read Full Post


Older Posts