Announcing the 2013 Poetry Society of America Chapbook Fellowship Winners

Each year four renowned poets select and introduce a winning  manuscript for publication. Each winner receives $1000.

New York Chapbook Fellowship Winners

Manhattations by MRB Chelko,
selected by Mary Ruefle

Modern Camping by Tyler Flynn Dorholt,
selected by John Yau

National Chapbook Chapbook Fellowship Winners

Err to Narrow by Alicia Salvadeo,
selected by Nick Flynn

Barbarian at the Gate by Xavier Cavazos,
selected by Thomas Sayers Ellis

* * *

Finalist for the New York Contest: 
Jameson Fitzpatrick

Finalists for the National Contest:
Lindsay Ahl and P. Scott Cunningham

MRB Chelko holds an MFA in poetry from The University of New Hampshire. Her work has appeared in numerous journals including AGNI Online; Forklift, OhioIndiana Review; and Washington Square Review. She is the author two chapbooks, The World after Czeslaw Milosz (Dream Horse Press, 2012) and What to Tell the Sleeping Babies (sunnyoutside, 2010). She lives in Central Harlem with her husband, Nick, and daughter, Noni.

Tyler Flynn Dorholt is a writer and visual artist, living and working in Brooklyn. He is the author of two chapbooks The Point, or What I Cannot Recall (Greying Ghost, 2012) and, with Thomas Cook, Monster: a Glottochronology (alice blue, 2012). He co-edits and publishes the print journal Tammy and is the founder and publisher of the film and writing series, On the Escape. Photograph of Tyler by Marshall Franklin Long.

Xavier Cavazos earned his MFA in 2013 from Iowa State University where he served as poetry editor for Flyway: Journal of Writing and the Environment.  He was the Nuyorican Poets Café 1993 "Fresh Poet" Award winner, selected by Miguel Algarín, as well as the café's 1995 Grand Slam Champion. His poetry has been published in such anthologies as Verses That Hurt: Pleasure and Pain from the POEMFONE Poets (St. Martin's Press): Under a Pomegranate Tree: The Best New Latino Erotica, edited by Ray Gonzalez (Washington Square Press): and Aloud: Voices from the Nuyorican Poets Café, edited by Bob Holman and Miguel Algarín (Henry Holt Press). 

Born in Staten Island in 1990, Alicia Salvadeo grew up in New York and Eastern Pennsylvania. She now lives in Pittsburgh, PA, where she studied poetry and history as an undergraduate at the University of Pittsburgh. Her poetry and reviews have most recently appeared in Bombay GinThe VoltaPhantom Limb, DIAGRAM, and SOFTBLOW.


Recent Winners


Barbarian at the Gate by Xavier Cavazos, selected by Thomas Sayers Ellis

Err to Narrow by Alicia Salvadeo, selected by Nick Flynn

Manhattations by MRB Chelko, selected by Mary Ruefle

Modern Camping by Tyler Flynn Dorholt, selected by John Yau


mere eye by Danielle Blau, selected by D. A. Powell

Self-Portrait as Missing Person by Justin Boening, selected by Dara Wier

Theory of Tides by Cherry Pickman, selected by Lucia Perillo

Travel and Leisure by Eric Bliman, selected by Vijay Seshadri


Dear Johnny, In Your Last Letter by Angela Veronica Wong, selected by Bob Hicok

Little Box of Cotton & Lightning by Marni Ludwig, selected by Susan Howe

What We Push Against by Alison Roh Park, selected by Joy Harjo

Your Bright Hand by E. J. Garcia, selected by Gerald Stern